Agenda and draft minutes

Venue: Lord Mayor's Selection Committee

Contact: Hannah Whiting / Ross Jago  Email:

No. Item


Appointment of Chair

To appoint a Chair of the Lord Mayor Selection Committee for 2023/24.


Having been proposed by Councillor Aspinall and seconded by Councillor Lugger, the Committee agreed to appoint Councillor Tudor Evans OBE as Chair of the Lord Mayor’s Selection Committee 2023/24.


Declarations of Interest

Members will be asked to make any declarations of interest in respect of items on this agenda.


No declarations of interest were made.


Minutes pdf icon PDF 67 KB

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 17 May 2023.


The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on 17 May 2023 as a correct record.


Lord Mayoralty 2024/25

To recommend to City Council a suitable person to fill the office of Lord Mayor for the year 2024/25.


The Committee sought nominations for the Lord Mayoralty 2024/25. Having been nominated by Councillor Aspinall, and seconded by Councillor Penberthy, it was agreed unanimously to extend a cordial invitation to Councillor Tina Tuohy to accept the Office of the Lord Mayor for the following municipal year.


Councillors waited upon Councillor Tina Tuohy who, on arrival, expressed her delight with the nomination, which she was very honoured and grateful to accept.


The Committee agreed unanimously to recommend to City Council that it approved the appointment of Councillor Tina Tuohy as Lord Mayor for the 2024/25 municipal year.