Agenda and minutes

Venue: Council House, Plymouth

Contact: Ross Jago  Head of Governance, Performance and Risk

No. Item


Declarations of Interest

Councillors will be asked to make declarations of interest in respect of items on this agenda.


There were no declarations of interest made by Members in accordance with the code of conduct.


Freedom of the City pdf icon PDF 51 KB

To consider and if thought fit pass a resolution to confer Freedom of the City to nominated organisations / persons.



Councillor Richard Bingley (Leader of the Council) introduced the nomination of the Joint Hospital Group (SW) to bestow the honour Freedom of the City. The motion was seconded by Councillor Tudor Evans OBE.


Following a discussion, with a contribution from Councillor Dr John Mahony, It was agreed that in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, that, in appreciation of the splendid traditions of Joint Hospital Group (SW) and as an expression of the admiration of the Citizens of Plymouth for their great and glorious achievements in the Service of this Country and of their long and historic association with the City, the Council do confer upon the services the Honorary Freedom of the City of Plymouth.


For (46)


Councillors Bingley, Carlyle, Drean, Finn, Harrison, Loveridge, Lugger, Dr Mahony, Partridge, Patel, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Smith, Stoneman, Tofan, Wakeham, Ms Watkin, Dann, Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Briars-Delve, Coker, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Evans OBE, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, McDonald, Noble, Penberthy, Reilly, Rennie, Stevens, Tippetts, Tuohy, McLay, Poyser, Wheeler, Mrs Beer, Hulme, Kelly, Singh and Nicholson.


Against (0)


Abstain (0)


Absent/Did Not Vote (0)