Committee details

Devon and Cornwall Police and Crime Panel

Purpose of committee

What does the panel do?


The Police and Crime Panel will support and challenge the Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC)when they carry out their functions.  The panel has the power to request reports and call the PCC to attend its meetings.


Panels will not replace police authorities and will not have a role in scrutinising the performance of the police force (that is the role of the PCC).


The panel will:


·       review the police and crime plan and annual report


·       scrutinize (and potentially veto) the PCC’s proposed council tax precept* for policing


·       hold confirmation hearings for the PCC’s proposed appointment of a Chief Constable and senior support staff (the panel may veto the Chief Constable appointment)


·       scrutinise the actions and decisions of the Commissioner (but not the
performance of the police force)


·       consider complaints against the PCC of a non-criminal nature


*the money collected from Council Tax for policing


Who sits on the panel?


The Panel has 19 members (18 councillors and 1 independent Member and 1 independent vacancy).


·       The following local authorities in the Devon and Cornwall police area appoint councillors: Cornwall Council, Devon County Council, East Devon District Council, Exeter City Council, Isles of Scilly Council, Mid Devon District Council, North Devon District Council, Plymouth City Council, South Hams District Council, Teignbridge District Council, Torbay Council, Torridge District Council and West Devon Borough Council.


·       1 co-opted independent members – one from Devon and 1 (vacancy from Cornwall)


How to ask the panel a question


Members of the public can attend panel meetings (except where confidential or exempt information is likely to be discussed) and may ask questions at each meeting (up to two questions per person per meeting and up to 100 words per question) that are relevant to the Panel’s functions.


At the start of each meeting 30 minutes will be allocated to questions asked by members of the public.  Responses may be oral or written.


Questions must be put in writing to the Senior Governance Advisor at Plymouth City Council at least 5 clear working days before the panel meeting.


Senior Governance Advisor

Plymouth City Council

Ballard House




Or emailed to



Where does the panel meet?


Meetings are held in the Council House, Plymouth City Council, Armada Way, Plymouth.


The Police and Crime Commissioner


Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs)  are elected by the public and their job is to listen to their needs, bring more of a public voice to policing, get across local concerns and provide a name and face to complain to if people are not satisfied with policing and crime in their area.


The PCC will answer to the public on cutting crime in their police force area. They will also hold the Chief Constable to account for the performance of the police force. 


On 10 May 2021, Alison Hernandez was elected as the Police and Crime Commissioner for Devon and Cornwall.


For more information and to contact Alison Hernandez, please go to

Official Site of Devon and Cornwall Police Commissioner's Office


  • Councillor Martyn Alvey  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Jermaine Atiya-Alla  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Frank Biederman  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Nicky Chopak  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Roger Croad  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Alistair Dewhirst  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor John Fitter  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Philip Hackett  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Nicky Hopwood  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Dennis Knowles  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor John Loudoun  (Committee Member) 
  • Sharon Minty   
  • Councillor Vivien Pengelly  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Euan Rodger  (Committee Member) 
  • Neil Rutledge  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Lois Samuel  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Mark Shayer  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Shorne Tilbey  (Committee Member) 
  • Councillor Kevin Towill  (Committee Member) 

Contact information

Support officer: Jamie Sheldon. Email:

Postal address:
Chief Executive's Department
Floor 3 (West) Ballard House
West Hoe Road

Phone: 01752 668000